Racism 101: The Bystander Effect »

racismschool:

“When I posted this video, there were a great many people who started to tell their own stories. It was one of those posts that actually made me happy because with every story that people told, anyone could come back later and see that this was not an isolated incident. Someone that maybe had doubts that the video was somehow staged, could see that it was in fact, the norm.

To everyone that added their own personal stories, I thank you.

Now, to the person that decided that they would justify the situation. This is for you. First off, fuck you. Second, go to hell.

Before I go on, I will say that the person in question did end up deleting their comment. I am going to chose to believe that it was because they saw the error of their ways and not because after it was pointed out, people went to their page to call them a douchbag. (Didn’t think I knew about that, didja?) Anyway, since I have no actual proof of the reasoning behind it, I am going to CHOSE to believe that the person had a “See the light” moment and that is why they deleted their comments.

I still want to address said comments because I keep seeing this excuse and it needs to be talked about. I’ve seen it called a few different things but we’ll go with the “Bystander Effect.”

For those that don’t know, the Bystander Effect is when people are all sort of standing around watching a crime being committed and doing/saying nothing to stop it. The idea is that they are afraid of what will happen to them personally, not that they don’t want to help the victim. Also, there is an additional idea attached that they believe “Someone else” will do something.

I have a BIG problem with this…”; Read more—> http://racismschool.tumblr.com/post/37155656257/the-bystander-effect

Reblogged now from racismschool (Originally from racismschool)
107 notes
Source: racismschool

Leave a Reply

