28 Common Racist Attitudes And Behaviors

Re-blogged from:  DemocraticUnderground

“Below is a list of 28 common racist attitudes and behaviors that indicate a detour or wrong turn into white guilt, denial or defensiveness. Each is followed by a statement that is a reality check and consequence for harboring such attitudes.

1. I’m Colorblind.

“People are just people; I don’t see color; we’re all just human.” Or “I don’t think of you as Chinese.” Or “We all bleed red when we’re cut.” Or “Character, not color, is what counts with me.”

REALITY CHECK + CONSEQUENCE:

Statements like these assume that people of color are just like you, white; that they have the same dreams, standards, problems, and peeves that you do. “Colorblindness” negates the cultural values, norms, expectations and life experiences of people of color. Even if an individual white person could ignore a person’s color, society does not. By saying we are not different, that you don’t see the color, you are also saying you don’t see your whiteness. This denies the people of colors’ experience of racism and your experience of privilege.

“I’m colorblind” can also be a defense when afraid to discuss racism, especially if one assumes all conversation about race or color is racist. Speaking of another person’s color or culture is not necessarily racist or offensive. As my friend Rudy says,
I don’t mind that you notice that I’m black.” Color consciousness does not equal racism…”;  Mr Scorpio 

And more:

Blame the Victim.:  “We have advertised everywhere, there just aren’t any qualified people of color  for this job.” Or …Read more  here

Due Process.:  “Lady Justice is color blind.” White parents who tell their children, “The police are here to protect you. If they ever stop you, just be polite and tell the truth.” Then when a black teen is beaten or killed by police, those same parents say, “He must have been doing something wrong, to provoke that kind of police response.”

The Innocent by Association.: “I’m not racist, because… I have Vietnamese friends, or my lover is black or I marched with Dr. King.”

The Penitent.: “I am so sorry for the way whites have treated your people.” Or “I am sorry for the terrible things that white man just said to you.”

BWAME.: “But What About Me. Look how I’ve been hurt, oppressed, exploited…?

Silence.:  We stay silent.

Read the original article here

Leave a Reply

