Blank Eyes: Lifting The Veil Off White Guilt

a8bdb32e977372d18c73326d74015d8d1

Re-blogged from APEIRON

Author: Danielle Alheit

“… the refusal of accountability.

I wanted to apologize, I did. But I am living on stolen land.
I wanted to apologize, I did. But no reparations have been paid.
I wanted to apologize but I imagined that all of my ancestors were standing behind me. Still, like the statues of Rhodes and Van Riebeeck, without remorse.
Whites, we live in a state of delusion. The delusions of individualism – that we do not belong to a collective, that we are not a people, we represent ourselves only, we are a-contextual beings. The delusions of capitalism – that it’s not an ill-disguised racial hierarchy and poverty is to be blamed on the poor and so the well-off, by virtue of being well-off, are deserving of being well-off. I think that, when we are faced with reality, when we are presented with the edge of our psychosis, we become hysterical.

Delusions of capitalism – the well-off, by virtue of being well-off, are deserving of being well-off.

White guilt is a kind of hysteria, isn’t it? It is not about self-reflection. It is the refusal of accountability. It is a frantic denial. It’s like an “Out, damn’d spot! Out, I say!” kind of hysteria.
It is not productive – we are not actually trying to be productive.
We are not trying to relinquish our privilege. But, perhaps there is some forgotten corner of our collective unconscious that cannot un-see the blood on our hands. And so, we make donations to charity, we go green, we…”read full post on authors website –Apeirononline

Leave a Reply

